My Engagement Story

Hello! Well, as many of you know, I just got back from Germany on Monday. It’s taken me a few days to get over my jet lag. That first night’s sleep was horrible trying to adjust and I’ve slowly been making it back to normal sleep patterns. Alex and I had the best time on our trip. What started out as a vacation turned into an engagement trip.

Let me start out by saying that I was not expecting Alex to propose on this trip. I had been telling everybody that there was no way he would propose. Guess I was wrong! Something which everyone has been telling me since I got back.

We had a horrible airport experience on our way to Germany. Alex’s flight to Chicago from Kansas City was delayed over 4 hours. By the time he landed in Chicago, our flight to Munich took off in 5 mins. Thanks to lots of crying (me) and running (him) we both made the flight and were off.

From Munich we headed to Berchtesgaden, Germany to the Intercontinental Resort which Alex booked with rewards points for our first two night.

P1010202

 

P1010214

We settled in, ate the little welcome treat, then headed out for a hike. The concierge gave us some ideas where to go while we were out. It looked like storms could come so we stuck close to the hotel in case. The resort is at the top of a mountain and very steep road. We walked all over when Alex mentioned he wanted to go back to a hill underneath the resort that had a great view of the Alps with the storm moving in so we headed back.

 P1010229

We sat on the slope talking. Made friends with a snail that was huge. While were talking, Alex kept messing with the zipper on his jacket. We got on the subject of the first time he told me he loved me, in which I had told him to shut up as we had only known each other for two months and he couldn’t possibly know that yet. What he said to me has always stuck in my heart. He told me “what I meal when I say I love you is that there is nothing about you that I don’t like.” At this point, he got down on one knee and said that things hadn’t changed from that moment. He pulled out a ring, which is possibly the most beautiful thing ever, and asked me to marry him. I, of course, said yes! It was such a surprise. He picked the perfect place with the most wonderful view. It was something very special and not something I will ever forget.

P1010216 P1010227

We sat talking more before heading to the resort to call our families. We then got ready for a nice dinner at the Bavarian restaurant in the resort. There was a wait for a table so we grabbed a beer at the American Bar by the fireplace and had snacks while we waited.

P1010239

Our dinner was delicious. At the end, our waitress mentioned that in Bavaria they mix their light beer with either banana juice or coke and offered us tastes. These tastes were actually 0.4L each! I liked the coke one and Alex liked the banana juice one. Overall a wonderful way to celebrate our engagement. 

P1010241 P1010242 P1010245

I’ll be back with more from each of the places we visited as I finish the posts!

1 Comment

Filed under Wedding

One response to “My Engagement Story

  1. shenglan

    love this story!

Leave a Reply

