Italian Turkey Burgers

Well hello there blog world. I’m not quite sure what happened to all the time lately but let me fill you in on my life the past month! First off, Alex and I found an apartment! No pictures because our phones were dead but it is a beautiful 2nd story apartment of a little duplex in Chicago. Absolutely love it. The kitchen walls are greenish blue which I love and it has a walk in pantry. I was sold the moment I saw it. I can’t wait to start cooking in it!

Alex and I leave for Germany in less than two weeks. I am more than excited for this. We are spending ten days traveling Germany and Austria and plan on seeing many castles, cathedrals and beer gardens while over there. Oh, and doing a Sound of Music Tour. I’m totally going to sing the hills are alive. I’m sure Alex will be extremely embarrassed by me.

Other than that my life has included: zumba, tap, some running, lots of rain (we got hit hard up here last week), and a ton of eating out. I feel like I really need to get back to my roots here and watch what I’m eating again. Even if you work out a ton you really need to watch what you eat. Even fit people can have heart attacks if they eat like crap.

Today, I vow to reignite my love for cooking healthy foods. I promise to myself that I will limit the eating out and eat my leftovers instead. I’ve already started by making some turkey burgers. Dad told me yesterday that he was craving a burger but he would be ok with a turkey burger. I had originally planned to make this soup and cheese bread so I instead took idea behind the ingredients and made turkey burgers. Wonderful, delicious, full of flavor turkey burgers.

 20130422_170004

I had bought ground turkey on sale a few weeks ago and it was the perfect excuse to break it out even though I had ground beef in the freezer. I mixed the ground turkey with Italian bread crumbs, an egg, rosemary, garlic, salt, pepper and sun-dried tomatoes. I formed the burgers into 6 large patties and one small one that I plan on using on a salad tomorrow for lunch.  I froze two of the turkey patties for future use since we are leaving for Iowa this weekend and I didn’t want them to go to waste. The rest were then grilled on the stove top because the grill isn’t set up yet outside and topped with an Italian 4 blend cheese. The flavors were so good I am already looking forward to my leftovers.

 20130422_171326

I served the burgers with a side of baked sweet potato fries. I could have added a salad but I just wasn’t feeling it. One step at a time back into the healthy eating right? For dessert I had a lovely bowl of fresh berries that were supposed to be my afternoon snack but I ended up not needing.  Look at that.. I had burgers and berries tonight! Didn’t even plan it. There is no picture of my pretty berries because I ate them out of an ugly orange bowl.20130422_174224

Italian Turkey Burgers (makes 6.5 patties)

1.25 pounds ground lean turkey

1 tbsp finely chopped rosemary about 1 sprig

1 large clove garlic, minced

1/3 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes

2 Tbsp Italian herb bread crumbs (I used 2 Tbsp regular and added a few dashes each parsley, basil and oregano)

1 egg

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients and mix well.

2. Form into 6-7 patties

3. Grill for 3-5 minutes per sid  e, until browned on each side

4. Top with preferred cheese and let melt. I used Land o Lakes Italian 4 blend. Soo tasty

5. Serve on a bun. Top with some romaine and tomato. Onion would probably be good too if you like that sort of thing.

Each burger has about 160 calories, 18 gm protein, 1 gm fiber. Not too bad. It’s definitely something I can feel good about eating.

I was definitely a happy and satisfied girl after eating my burger. Cannot wait for leftovers!. Yum. I realized after mixing my patties and forming them that I forgot the salt and pepper and ended up forgetting to add it to the burgers as they were cooking. I didn’t miss either one. Feel free to go salt-less on this one. The tang of the sun-dried tomatoes and zesty cheese gave them all the flavor they needed.

What are you trying to work on this month?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

