Gluten-Free Black Bean Brownies

As you know from previous posts, I recently went to a Zumbathon to raise money to send an 11 year old boy with cancer to Disney. I talked to my instructor about a week before the event asking if there were any treats I should make for the bake sale portion of the event. She mentioned that there were some people with allergies (celiac, wheat, dairy) coming. I decided that I would make a couple of gluten free treats. I made these cookies subbing almond butter for the peanut butter. I searched for some brownie ideas.

20130309_085034

Mom had made some black bean brownies last week but something just wasn’t right with the recipe. I took it and tweaked it. I healthified it just a little bit. A couple of kids at the event ate them and loved them! They didn’t even know they were made with black beans and applesauce!

I took a 15 oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed, 1/2 cup applesauce, 2/3 cup white sugar, 1/3 stevia in the raw, 3 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla extract,  1/2 cup of cocoa powder and about 1 Tbsp brewed coffee (cooled) and blended it all up in the food processor until smooth. The reason I used both sugar and stevia is because I am not a fan of the after taste of the stevia but wanted to cut the calories of the brownies down a little bit. I find using the above ratio of sugar to stevia I cannot taste the stevia but the brownies were plenty sweet.

20130309_09183120130309_092528

I put parchment paper in my pan to make it easier to take the brownies out and cut them. You don’t have to do this but I found it easiest since I didn’t want to kill the brownies taking them out. I took a piece of parchment paper and cut it down to the size of my pan. I sprayed cooking spray onto the pan itself and placed the parchment paper on top. This helps keep it in place.

20130309_092537

Once the paper was down, the batter was poured in and topped with some chocolate chips.

20130309_093226

Let’s take a minute and discuss the fatal flaw of my mom’s food processor. You cannot take the bowl off of base unless you take the blade off. But, the middle hole is really short. Therefore, I lost quite a bit of my brownie batter to the base/hole. Someone didn’t think this through while creating this food processor.

20130309_092816

The brownies were baked at 375 F for about 30 minutes. I took them out and let them sit for about 20 minutes until they were cool enough to pull out. I sliced them into 12 brownies.

20130309_101442

The brownies were packaged into two packages of 4 and a package of 3. The last brownie went in my belly. Had to make sure they tasted good! These are a rich, fudgy brownie just the way I like them. I, also, boxed up my almond butter cookies in some cute containers I found at a craft store.

20130309_152207

Gluten-free Black bean Brownies (makes 12)

1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup applesauce

1 tsp vanilla

3 eggs

2/3 cup white sugar plus 1/3 cup stevia in the raw (you can use all white sugar or other sugar substitute per your choice)

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 Tbsp brewed coffee (optional)

2-3 Tbsp chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven 375 F

2. Combine all but the chocolate chips into a food processor and process until smooth. It will be a little runny, don’t worry it’ll cook up firm and fudgy

3. Prep an 8×8 pan with parchment paper (optional). If not using parchment paper, spray the pan with cooking spray or other greasing method

4. Pour batter into the pan, top with chocolate chips, and bake for 25-3o minutes until the middle is set and a toothpick comes out clean

5. Cut into squares and enjoy

Nutrition Facts per brownie (1/12 pan): 136 calories, 3 grams fat, 27 grams carbohydrate, 4 grams fiber, 5 grams protein

Pretty awesome nutrition stats for a brownie!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

