Taco Night-Tequila Lime Steak Tacos and Chipotle Lime Coleslaw

I am a big Mexican food lover. Chips and salsa, tacos, burritos, and queso. Oh, I love queso. If I go to a Mexican restaurant, I will most likely order some if they have a queso on the menu. But, tonight’s dinner had no warm, gooey queso. Instead, the highlight was chipotle lime coleslaw. The day I was making my weekly menu, Alex said I should make steak tacos. What torture since he isn’t even here to eat them! But, I was sold. It had been months since we had a taco night at home and flank steak was on sale at the grocery store. It must have been meant to be. My next thought was what to serve on the side? I mentioned before that my parent’s are trying to avoid starchy sides as much as possible and I wanted something healthy and fresh on the side. Coleslaw! I didn’t want a mayo-laden, creamy dish though. I thought about what we were marinating our steak in-lime and cumin. We had some pureed chipotles in the freezer from when I made a creamy chipotle coleslaw over the summer. I figured I’d take that recipe and make it healthier to get a fresh, crunchy, healthy side dish to tacos.

Mom was in charge of marinating the steak. Mostly because I forgot about it last night and she was off today. She likes to cook too and misses being in the kitchen so we tag-teamed dinner tonight. She put the flank steak in a baggie with 1/4 cup olive oil, 4 Tbsp tequila (some Jose Cuervo), 4 Tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice, 1 large clove minced garlic, 2 tsp honey and 1 tsp cumin. We let ours marinate for only 2 hours. Like I said, I forgot! Ideally, doing this overnight imparts the best flavor into the meat and makes it tender.

While the meat marinated we started on the coleslaw. Mom was in charge of shredded the veggies and I got to work on the sauce. We used 3/4 of a head of green cabbage and 3 carrots.

20130304_173103

For the sauce, I combine about 3-4 peppers worth of chipotle in adobo puree, defrosted plus 1/4 tsp salt, juice of 1/2 lime (we didn’t realize the limes were bad and both ended up with less than we wanted in our dishes, I’d recommend using about 1-2 limes for this dish), 1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp honey, 1/2 tsp cumin and about 2 Tbsp canola oil.

20130304_173112

It was all mixed up and poured on top of the cabbage, carrots, and about 2 Tbsp of chopped cilantro. We let the flavors blend together for a bit to let the heat kick in and the other flavors to brighten.

20130304_173355

20130304_174041

I topped my tacos with some taco blend cheese, chipotle corn salsa, avocado and greek yogurt. The coleslaw was piled high next to my tacos to add volume and nutrition to my plate. Yummy!

20130304_184005

Tequila Lime Flank Steak (serves 6)

1.5 lb flank steak (or skirt)

1/2 cup olive oil

1 large clove garlic, minced

4 Tbsp tequila of choice

4 Tbsp lime juice

2 tsp honey

1 tsp cumin

Mix all but the steak together in a large plastic bag. Add in steak and let marinate at least 2 hours. Best is all day or overnight

Grill 4-5 minutes per side over medium-high heat. This will give you a nice medium-rare cooked steak. Cook 2-3 minutes longer per side for well done

Let rest for 5 minutes before slicing thinly

Chipotle Lime Coleslaw (serves 6-8 as a side)

3/4 small head cabbage, thinly slices

3 medium carrots, peeled and shredded

2 Tbsp cilantro, chopped

2 Tbsp canola oil

3-4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

Juice of 1 limes (or 1/2 lime and 1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar)

1/2 tsp honey

1/4 tsp salt

Mix together everything but cilantro, cabbage and carrots

Place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix. Let sit for 15-20 minutes for flavors to meld.

This was one tasty, flavor-filled meals. So many flavors competing and complementing each other all at once. I cannot wait for all of the leftovers the next couple of days.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Taco Night-Tequila Lime Steak Tacos and Chipotle Lime Coleslaw

  1. Rita Berry

    Yummy! I know Alex is sorry he missed this…and you! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

