Eating Right My Way

This is a continued post from yesterday on National Nutrition Month and how I eat right, my way, every day. 

My Saturday morning started off with coffee and skim milk. I drank my coffee while catching up with blogs and brain storming breakfast ideas. I love Kiss my Broccoli’s pancake recipes but I didn’t have all the ingredients for any of the recipes I’m dying to try. Instead, I decided to make my own protein pancakes. I took the recipe on the back of the Bob’s Red Mill whole wheat pastry flour package and made a couple changes. They were good but the recipe isn’t ready to be shared because they were pretty flat and missing something. They were definitely stick to your stomach, keep you full pancakes. I ate 4 pancakes (about 1/4 of the recipe) and a banana.20130302_09175120130302_124351

Since it was Saturday, I had Zumba at 11. Since it ends at noon, I usually end up starving by the time I get home. Therefore lunch has to be quick and easy to throw together. Lunch was leftovers of the Greek chicken, roasted butternut squash and the rice dish. Also, I had two very large strawberries and a small apple.

20130302_122832

About an hour after lunch, I was feeling snacky. My mom had recently gone to Aldi and bought this tub of trail mix with different nuts, raisins and cranberries. I’m not usually a trail mix person but it totally hit the spot.

 20130302_151325

We had my church’s bowling league yesterday too. I subbed on my parent’s team since their other two team members were out of town. Check out my snazzy bowling shoes.

20130302_155403

I enjoyed a beer while playing the three games and since it was Easter Egg Hunt Night I ate 2 Hershey Kisses that I “found.” Every time I marked (aka a strike or spare) I got to choose an egg out of a big. If it had a chocolate egg you got a dollar. The rest of the eggs held Hershey kisses. I won three dollars and mom and dad won 4. This money is going towards Dance for Disney.

20130302_174357

20130302_174414

After bowling, I headed out to dinner with the family to Coach’s Corner a sports bar near my house. I ordered the California Chicken Wrap with grilled chicken avocado, shredded lettuce and pico de gallo with a side of french fries. Sorry about the horrible picture. It was very dark in the bar and flash photos were not turning out for me. I ate about 2/3 of the sandwich and most of the fries. Not a typical meal for me but sometimes you just need to have some french fries. The sandwich was extremely spicy but very tasty.20130302_193053

Overall, a mostly healthy day. I’ve been eating more chocolate than usual which I blame on all the darn holidays. I’m trying to cut back on my chocolate intake but sometimes a little chocolate is good for the heart and mind.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

