National Nutrition Month

It’s March already. Where did the beginning of the year go? How are we in the 3rd month of the year? The best part about March has to be that it is National Nutrition Month. This year’s theme is “Eat Right, Your Way, Every Day.” The goal is to promote healthy eating habits and recognize that food preferences, lifestyle, cultural and ethnic traditions influence the way we eat.

I personally love this theme because as a dietitian I see a variety of people with different backgrounds and eating habits. It is necessary to realize that not everyone eats the way that I do. I do not expect these people to eat like me. There are ways to eat your favorite foods but healthified. Nutrition is a very personal topic. People become offended when you tell them they have to make changes because it’s their way of eating.

The goal of a dietitian, especially during this month, is to show people that you can eat right, eat healthy, eat happy all in your own way by following the myplate guidelines and choosing healthy options over heavy, fried, caloric-laden foods. Eatright.org is the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics website which explains more about this year’s theme and how a registered dietitian can assist in making healthy choices and our role in the community. Check out their press release to see some of the ideas they have on making healthy choices with different ethnic meals.

I thought it might be fun to show you how I eat right, my way, every day. I know I’ve mentioned before that I am very type A and typically eat the same things during the week. This past month I have been covering at a hospital that pays for my lunches down in the cafeteria. It’s pretty awesome. They do meatless Mondays, have an awesome salad bar, and really tasty soups. This week, I want to show you a typical day of my eats. One week day, and one weekend. This one is from yesterday.

Breakfast included: coffee and skim milk in a travel mug (which I thought I had a picture of but somehow disappeared). Maple Better Oats with chia seeds and banana topped with Barney Almond Butter. Delicious, filling and nutritious. This kept me full until lunch. Usually I eat a morning snack around 10-1030 while writing patient’s notes of a Greek yogurt or Luna Bar. No need this day though!

20130228_065758

Lunch: baby carrots and an apple which as every day staples from home. Navy bean soup topped with two saltine crackers and vegetarian collards from the cafeteria. That container in the back has mandarin oranges, strawberries, blueberries and grapes which was my afternoon snack. This lunch was a little low in protein and I ended up snacking on a Peppermint Stick Luna Bar (unpictured) to hold me over until dinner time. Some days I save my apple for the ride home because bad traffic makes me Hangry! (hungry angry for any one unfamiliar with the saying)

20130228_114117

Dinner last night was the tomato, spinach, goat cheese rice dish with chicken.

20130301_180229

After dinner, Dad and I hit up the gym where I did 25 minutes on the bike, 15 minutes on the treadmill doing hills, 10 minutes of sit-ups and other calisthenics finished up with about 10 minutes of stretching out my legs and hips. I was a little snacky when I got home and ate a couple of Cadbury mini chocolate eggs, I love these things and need them to disappear from my house,  and a small glass of red wine.

It was a vegetable and fruit heavy day. Just the way I like it! That is a pretty typical day for me other than the night time snack. I try to have more protein at lunch than I did on this day by eating a salad with my soup that is topped with chickpeas or chicken salad or nuts. This is how I eat right, my way, every day.

How do you eat right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

