Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

Hello all! Sorry for the lapse of time since I was last around. I just went full time at a hospital affiliated with the one at which I work to cover a medical leave and the longer commute plus full time hours has gotten to me. Meals have been other people’s recipes, out, or my mom cooks. I’m getting into the swing of my routine but all spare time has been spent working out.

Quick update on what I’ve been up to the past couple of weeks:

1. I bought a car! A gently used 2011 Prius III. He is pretty awesome

20130206_171807

2. Hung out with the bf at Mardi Gras, along with most of our undergrad friends. This is my only picture from the entire weekend.

  20130209_093833

3. Going to the Chicago auto show and seeing awesome cars. This is a concept sports car from Honda, it’s all electric. It will be mine some day.

20130217_105255

Valentine’s Day this year was a little anti-climatic. Being in a long distance relationship means spending (yet another) holiday apart. I did have company this year. My parents! I planned out a nice little dinner for the three of us with some tasty items. We had roasted green beans with just a little salt and pepper, grilled pork chops with Penzey’s Pork chop seasoning and these delicious, lick the bowl clean mashed cauliflower.

Now, before you think I’m crazy and close the screen just give me a chance to explain. Cauliflower is kind of being touted as the best replacement for everything in the world right now from mashed potatoes to pizza crust. I haven’t tried the pizza crust yet but my mom introduced me to mashed cauliflower a few months ago. My dad actually asks for it with meals. We usually just make it with some salt and pepper, maybe a dash of milk if it is a little dry. This version though could make a convert out of anyone. My dad and I stood around the food processor and licked every little crevice clean that we could. They were awesome and we were sad that I only made 1 heads worth.

To make the mashed cauliflower, first cut the head into florets and place in a pot to steam. Let them steam for a good long time. I Let mine go for about 40 minutes. You want them really soft to make it easier to blend later on.

20130214_165239

Once the cauliflower is cooked through and soft, place in a food processor.  You can also mash by hand or use an immersion blender but the food processor gives you the best texture.

20130214_173647

Whirl it around until it’s light and fluffy. Then add in some shredded cheddar cheese.  If yours is really dry add a splash of milk to get it going. Ours ended up not needing any.

20130214_173747

20130214_173836

20130214_173926

I served the mashed cauliflower alongside the pork chops and roasted green beans. The mean was delicious and that cheesy, creamy side dish was the star of the plate. Even the bird loved it as you can see in the background of the next picture.

20130214_174201

Trust me on this one. Even the biggest mashed potato lover, even the mashed potato haters will love this dish.

Creamy Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower (serves 3)

1 head fresh cauliflower, cut into florets

1/4 cup shredded cheddar

pinch salt

dash of pepper

1. steam cauliflower for 40 minutes until cooked through and very soft

2. place cauliflower in a food processor and process until smooth. Add a dash of milk if it looks very dry and isn’t coming together

3. Add in shredded cheddar, salt and pepper and blend until creamy

4. Serve in place of mashed potatoes

Nutrition facts per serving: 115 calories, 10 grams protein, 7 grams fiber, 33% DV calcium, 7% DV Iron

Let me know if you try it and like it! As always feel free to experiment by trying different spices or recreating your favorite recipe of mashed potatoes.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Recipe

5 responses to “Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

  1. rita b

    Yummy! I NEED to make these! Hear the new car is AWESOME! Have you named him yet?

  2. Donna

    I made these today for lunch. Very good. That was a handsome man you were with.

  3. Pingback: Iowa Family Fun | burgersnberries

Leave a Reply

