Lemon Blueberry Oats

For those of you who do not know me, you should know that I am extremely type A. I plan my meals. I eat many of the same things every day. I make lists upon lists upon lists. I love routines and planning. My weekday breakfast always include either overnight oats, whole wheat waffles or a breakfast burrito when I’m feeling crazy. We keep our freezer stocked with homemade breakfast burritos. I can’t remember where I found the recipe but it was from pinterest. Lunches always include an apple and baby carrots and either a sandwich, salad or leftovers. Dinners vary at least. But on the weekend. That is my time to play with my breakfast and lunches. Though I will admit some mornings I still have my staples.

This morning I decided to play with my oats. Anyone’s mom ever tell them not to play with their food? I know mine did. But, I guess this is more of experimenting. Over the summer I bought some lemon extract from Penzey’s Spices to try these pancakes. Yes, I bought it with that sole purpose. Now, I needed to make something different with it. Why not adapt that idea and make it into oatmeal?

I took the general recipe for oatmeal: 1/2 cup dry oats, 1 C water, small pinch of salt and pumped it up with 1/4 cup (maybe more) of blueberries, 1/2 Tbsp chia seeds and a dash of lemon extract. I was hoping to not have to add any sweetner but my blueberries were a little on the sour side so I ended up adding 1 tsp sugar.  Holy yum. Not only was it a super filling breakfast but it was tasty. If I had some coconut in the house that would have gone into the mix but alas I did not have any. The oats were just as tasty without it though.

20130202_092038

Lemon Blueberry Oats (serves 1)

1/2 cup dry old fashioned oats (I don’t like using quick oats in recipes but you can if that’s what you have. Just decrease cook time)

1 cup water

pinch salt

1/2 Tbsp chia seeds

1/4 cup washed blueberries

1-2 dashes lemon extract

1 tsp sugar (I used white sugar but feel free to use stevia or truvia or some other favorite sweetener)

1. Bring water to boil in a small pot. Once boiling add pinch of salt, oats and chia seeds. Stir it all together

2. Add in lemon extract and blueberries stirring well

3. I popped a couple of blueberries to let a little of their pretty color run and release some of the juices.

4. Taste, if needed add 1 tsp sugar or sugar substitute.

5. Cook for a total of 5-6 minutes.

6. Eat piping hot with some coffee. Perfect weekend morning breakfast.

Nutrition Facts: 212 calories, 6 gm protein, 7 gm fiber, 5 gm fat

What did you eat this morning?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

