Homemade Holiday Gifts

Hello everyone! Sorry for my long hiatus from the blog. Holidays picked up and I found myself spending as much time as I could with my family and have not found much time for this little blog. One of my new year’s goals is to be better about posting even when life gets busy. This post has been in the making since before Christmas because it is about gifts I did for my friends. One friend hasn’t gotten hers yet but I wanted to put this up. So Ang, if you see this close out now! Or get a sneak peak of your present.

Having a part time job means being on a strict budget. Now, I am not the best sticking to my budget but I make an honest effort to not overspend. For my friends this year I decided to go the homemade route for Christmas gifts. I am not a very crafty person but I wish I was! I made three different things this year. A pumpkin sugar scrub, a coffee/coconut sugar scrub and holiday cookies in a jar. 20121213_110710

I used this recipe for the pumpkin scrub and this one for the holiday cookies. I have a progression of pictures for you for the holiday cookies because the other post does not and I was worried it wouldn’t all fit. But it does! Look!

20121213_11042820121213_11045720121213_11053820121213_11062220121213_110637

For my coffee loving girlfriend, Katie, I decided to make a coconut coffee sugar scrub. I used finely ground coffee (a mountain blend with deep rich flavors and scents), melted coconut oil, vanilla extract and granulated sugar. It all was mixed together and put into a mason jar. It smelled amazing.

20121213_102238

Coconut Coffee Sugar Scrub (makes 1 cup)

1/2 up melted coconut oil

1/2 cup finely ground coffee

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup granulated sugar

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl. Add more coconut oil if it is not wet enough. Should resemble slightly wet mud, weird comparison but it’s true.

I decorate the jars with little labels stating what was in each jar, directions for use and ingredients used.

20121214_150706

They were a hit with my friends and I hope they have enjoyed using them the past few weeks. The whole process of making gifts for my friends was even better than I expected it to be. I loved putting so much love and my own personal touches on their gifts. Definitely want to try making friend’s more gifts throughout the year.

What have you made as gifts in the past?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun

Leave a Reply

