Starting the Weekend Off Right

Last night Dad and I headed to the gym before dinner. My plan included a 30 minutes run on the treadmill and some weights focusing on my arms. I ended up doing a 31 minutes run. Why? Sounded like a good number. Finished it off with a 5 minute walk because my legs were killing me. I did a total of 3.71 mi in 36 minutes. Not too shabby. I am slowly trying to increase my speed. I started the summer not able to run a full mile at 6.0 without walking and last night I ran between 6.3-6.5 for the entire 31 minutes, which I think averages out to right about a 9:31 pace. Feels good to make progress.

After my run, I headed down to the women’s weight room. I think I mentioned it before but I love that we have this at my gym. The men’s pit creeps me out a bit and I feel like I’m being judged. The women’s room was empty except for one woman using the machines. I grabbed some 7 lb weights and got to work. In all my workout looked something like this:

12 bicep curls straight into 12 standing overhead shoulder presses into 10 tricep kickbacks. Repeated for 3 rounds total

10 tricep overhead extensions x3

10 chest presses x3

10 seated rows with 37.5 pounds x3

10 Lat pulldowns with 37.5 pounds x2

20 tricep dips

When I finished I felt tired but good probably why my arms feel sore today. I still feel uncertain about what I am doing but I feel like this was a good start. I like to look at other bloggers fitness plans for ideas to make them fit my workout style. Anyone have a good arm workout that I should try? I’d love to get some input.

20121201_121915

Im no good at selfies but this is my tired face after finishing that workout! Whew

Today, I started off with my exercises for the 2012 Closeout Workout Challenge hosted by Courtney of Sweet Tooth Sweet Life. The goal is to complete 2012 reps of any 2-5 exercises of your choice. I chose crunches, push-ups and squats for my three. I did 60 crunches (3 sets of 20) and 5 push-ups. This is where I realized how sore I was from last night! I could not move after 5 push-ups! So sad in a good way. During Zumba this morning I got in 60 squats bringing my total reps for the challenge today to 125.  Boy was Zumba hard this morning! My instructor added 3 new songs last week and they are hard and leave me breathing hard. Love it! My face was bright red and covered in sweat by the end of class. Great way to start my weekend off right!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness

Leave a Reply

