Protein Smoothie

Yesterday, I spent the morning downtown with my sister. We went out to breakfast at  Orange on Roscoe. Started off sharing a pear, carrot, ginger juice.  It was refreshing and a great way to get some vitamins in with breakfast.  We split the pumpkin ginger pecan pancakes and the Tijuana Benedict.  The pancake was fluffy and topped with a ginger cream cheese frosting/butter. And the Benedict had a mild heat to it. Both were great! It’s within walking distance of my sister’s apartment. The wind was bitterly cold but it was worth the walk.  I would definitely go again.

We went back to her apartment and embraced our inner child by watching Enchanted. I love that movie. We went out for lunch at a bar near Bazar. a clothing shop where Amanda  and I played dress up.  I cannot remember the name of the bar we ate lunch but I had a Boulevard Harvest Dance and a great Prime Rib Dip Sandwich with fries. I ate about half the sandwich and fries. Yum. Any kind of dip sandwich is my favorite. I added Gruyere to mine since it didn’t come with cheese and I love cheese. It was a good idea if I do say so myself.

After lunch, I headed back to the burbs. I ended up running some errands. At this point I was feeling restless from my car ride and sitting eating all morning so I headed to the gym. I ran about 6 mi in my first 60 mins then walked for another 2. It felt good to stretch my legs and get moving.

After working out I like to make sure I eat something with carbs and protein to start my recovery. My newest favorite? The protein smoothie. It’s all over the internet right now and here is my version. I use my magic bullet to put it together in a single serving. I always have frozen bananas in my freezer. Whenever we can’t eat all of ours and they start turning brown, I will peel them, break them in half, and then put them in a freezer bag to have for smoothies.

 

Protein Smoothie: Serves 1

Ingredients:

1/2 frozen banana

1 scoop chocolate protein powder, I use Designer whey

about 1/4 cup packed spinach leaves (you can’t taste it, I promise)

1/2 cup almond milk (you can use any milk you typically drink, we had a coconut milk in the fridge that I tried last night)

couple of ice cubes

Throw all the ingredients into your blender or magic bullet cup and give it a whir until its all blended together.

Nutrition Facts: 180 calories, 20 g protein, 44% DV calcium, 4 g fat, 4 g fiber

What’s your favorite post-workout snack?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

