Saturday Birthday Fun

Yesterday, I went down to Wrigleyville to celebrate one of my friend’s birthdays. Tim has been one of my good friends since high school and recently (last year) married one of my very best girlfriends. They have been together forever! At least in my mind. Anyways. Kathy planned out a fun afternoon/early evening for us in Chicago.

I started my day off with a run and zumba. I knew I wouldn’t be able to make all of zumba and get to Tim and Kathy’s place on time so I opted to run about 4 miles before doing 20 minutes of my zumba class. All in all not a bad way to start a Saturday.

It was pouring on my way over to Kathy’s and we were a little worried it was going to spoil our fun day but it stopped just in time for us to leave to head to our first stop. The Goose Island brewery tour in Wrigleyville. Now, this tour was more like here is a small brew tank and here are our barrels. We didn’t move from one tiny room for the entirety of the tour. But, they had an awesome beer tasting afterwards. We were in the back part of the pub and they had tables with settings for everyone with 6 different beers to try. These are ones that are brewed at the brewery. We sat down and waited to be told what was what. We went down the line trying each one and handed off ones we hated (I only had 2 I couldn’t drink) to someone else. There was a lot of laughing and faces made by the non-beer lovers.

 

After the Brewery tour and tasting we headed across the street to one of my favorite places in Wrigley: Sluggers. It’s a pure sports bar on the first floor but there is skee ball, batting cages, basketball free throw games and a couple of other games up on the second floor and at night on Friday and Saturdays there are dueling pianos. Originally we were hoping to see the dueling pianos but we knew we weren’t going to stay down in Wrigley until 9 when they started. But we hung out had a few beers and watched some football.

 

Then it was dinner time. OMG. It might have been the beer talking but this place was fantastic. We went to Dimo’s pizza. I got two slices. One was a vegan chorizo with salsa verde and the other was a chicken alfredo slice. The vegan chorizo one was good but suuuper spicy. My mouth was on fire. I ended up eating most of it before just eating the crust and moving on to my other slice. This slice was pure heaven. Silky alfredo sauce, chunks of chicken, penne noodles. Absolutely amazing. I could have gone back for another slice.

By this time it was 7 and we were thinking it was time to head back so birthday boy (who drove us down to Chicago) could get his drink on too. We picked up some beer and headed back to Kathy and Tim’s to play some games. Anyone ever played Cards Against Humanity? It is a pretty funny (and somewhat inappropriate) game. We laughed so hard we cried playing it a couple of rounds.

It was a great night out with my friends and I can’t wait to get back to Dimo’s to eat some different kinds of pizza. Yum.

How was your Friday night? Do anything fun?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun

Leave a Reply

