Beef Stir-Fry

Hope everyone is having a good day and staying dry! The Frankenstorm hasn’t hit Chicago yet but the news keeps telling me it is coming.  So, anyone who is currently experiencing the storm, please be safe and heed the warnings.

I was lucky to have the day off from training at work today which meant I could go to my favorite flow yoga class at my gym. Mom was off too and decided to join me. It wasn’t my best class, it was lacking in the flow aspect today 😦 but it felt good to stretch out my legs after my run yesterday. I am slowly trying to up my mileage and was able to run about 7 miles yesterday. This is huge progress for me considering that previous to this summer my longest distance was a 5k.  I am absolutely loving running lately and hope this feeling sticks around. Anyway, before yoga mom and I went grocery shopping for food for the week. It was a small haul today because I am leaving on Thursday to see my boy and mom works the weekend. Therefore, easy food for dad was a priority. He has lots of healthy dinner options to choose from.

Dinner’s inspiration came from the Clean Eating Cookbook: Beef Stir Fry. Yum. The cookbook gives a basic guideline for creating a stir fry. I didn’t have all the ingredients for the stir fry sauce but I adapted it to what I did have in the pantry.

Beef Stir-Fry (lightly adapted from Clean Eating) Serves 4

1 lb flank steak

2 cloves garlic

3 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1 lb snap peas/pea pods

2 red bell peppers, sliced into strips

1 small can sliced chestnuts, drained

1 can baby corn, drained

1/2 cup vegetable or beef broth

2 Tbsp hoisin sauce

1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar

2 Tbsp cornstarch

1 Tbsp soy sauce

1.  Thinly slice flank steak against the grain, put in a gallon sized plastic bag. Add in 3 Tbsp soy sauce and lemon juice. Mix well and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Mine went all day about 6 hours.

2. Heat up a wok or large sauce pan over high heat. Add canola oil (about 1 Tbsp)

3.  Mix together the vinegar, soy sauce, hoisin, cornstarch and broth.

4.  Start by adding the water chestnuts to the pan. Cook stirring for 1 min.

5. Add beef and let cook, stirring, for 3 minutes or until most pieces look browned.

6. Add in bell pepper and baby corn, cook for 2 minutes before adding pea pods.

7. Add in the sauce, stir, cover and let cook for 5 minutes.

8. Stir one last time and serve over brown rice.

Remember, you can add whatever veggies you have on hand or love in your stirfry. Add shitake mushrooms, they would be delicious.

What did you have for dinner today? What’s your favorite stir fry ingredient?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

