Rogan Josh Lamb

Hello everyone,

Well I have officially started work today! I have been oriented to the hospital and my co-workers. I have to say I am very excited to begin my journey with this group of people. All the RDs are nice and super helpful getting me all settled in. I haven’t been able to talk to any patients yet so hopefully that will be tomorrow.

I felt lucky that at my orientation the hospital provided our lunches both days of general orientation along with breakfast one of the days. They weren’t the most nutritionally balanced meals but it was nice to have one less thing to worry about. I definitely indulged in a couple of sprinkled donut holes. So yummy.

Anyway, I am lucky because I am still able to cook dinner for my family and experiment in the kitchen. Earlier this month, my mom and I took a trip to Naperville to shop for the day. One of the mandatory stops was Penzey’s Spices. I love this place. The smell of it is FANTASTIC. We had a couple of coupons to use and in addition found a couple of other fun spice mixtures. I found one called Rogan Josh in the Indian spices section. It called for using lamb or beef and simmering the meat in a yogurt sauce. One sniff of the stuff and I was sold. I picked up a small jar just in case we didn’t like it. There wasn’t a recipe so much as suggestions on the jar and online so I made one up as I went using previous meals at Indian restaurants as inspiration. My guidelines of a recipe will be at the end of the post. 

It was delicious. I’m glad Penzeys mentioned using Greek Yogurt because this spice mix was hot! If it hadn’t been for the yogurt I dont know if I could have eaten it all! I ended up putting some green beans that were starting to go bad in with the lamb that we had in our freezer for the base of this meal. I cooked up some jasmine rice to go with it and dug out the last two pieces of Tandoori Naan from Trader Joe’s that have been in the freezer for.. well..I don’t know how long those have been in there. I steamed up the purple cauliflower from Boley’s Farm alongside the rest for a non-spicy side. This was a killer meal. Soo good.

Rogan Josh Lamb Stew (serves 4-5)

1.5 lb lamb chops, cut into bite size pieces

1/2 pound green beans, cut into 1 inch pieces

1.5-2 TBSP Penzeys Rogan Josh

1/2 cup Fage 0% Greek Yogurt

1 cup water

2 Tbsp olive oil or ghee (I used the olive oil)

1. Heat large saucepan over medium-high heat for 5 minutes. Add olive oil and let it heat up.

2. Add lamb and brown

3. Once lamb is browned add in the Rogan Josh, water and yogurt. Stir well

4. Add green beans and cover pan. Simmer for 1-2 hours (I let it go for about 1 hour). Stirring occasionally.

5. Take off lid, turn heat onto high and let the sauce reduce and thicken. This took me about 10 minutes.

6. Serve over Jasmine rice or with naan, or with both.

Have you ever been to a Penzeys? I swear most of my spices are from them. Love that place!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

