Irish Stew

Hello again. Sorry I was MIA yesterday. My goal is to post on here at least 5 times a week so that means I will probably be gone a couple of days per week. Any way quick recap of my last couple of days. Saturday was Zumba followed by cleaning up the house and lounging around the house. Sunday, I went to church and basically was lazy all day. It was a much needed rest day, from life, chores and exercise.

On Saturday, I made an Irish Beef Stew for dinner. It was pretty yummy. The recipe will be at the end of this post. I found the recipe in the Everyday Food Magazine, I believe it was the October 2008 one.  I followed the recipe almost completely but made a couple of changes based on what we had in the house and to make less than the recipe called for. It originally made 10 servings and my rendition made 6; it was enough to feed my family for two meals.

Today was my first day of work/orientation at my first big girl job. It was great to get in to the hospital and start my journey as a registered dietitian. After work, I came home, reheated some of the stew and caught up on the blogs I read. I just got back from my workout. Just an easy 2.5 miles followed by some weights today. I have to say I missed my weekly flow yoga and will have to figure out how to get it in later this week.

 

Irish Beef Stew (serves 6) -Slightly adapted from Everyday Food Magazine October 2008

Ingredients:

2 pounds chuck roast cut into 1 inch cubes (I made mine a little smaller to cook faster)

2 Tbsp whole wheat flour

1.75 cans tomato paste (I had used about 1/2 of a can earlier in the week for chili)

2 small yellow onions, diced large (about 1 inch pieces)

6 cloves garlic, sliced thin

6-8 small potatoes diced large

1 bottle stout beer (I used a Breakfast Stout from Michigan)

28 fl oz. beef stock (we have Penzey’s beef stock paste but use whatever you have on hand)

1 bag frozen peas

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

2. Sprinkle flour on beef and mix together. This will help thicken the stew as it cooks. Put into an oven safe pot or Dutch Oven. You could also do this recipe in a slow cooker (just cook on low for 6-8 hours)

3. Stir in tomato paste. Then add onion, potato and garlic.

4. Stir in beer and stock. Mix well. Bring to a boil

5. Once the stew boils, turn off heat, cover and put in oven.

6. Cook for 2-3 hours until beef is tender.

7. Add in peas and cook for another 15 minutes until peas and entire stew is fully heated through. (If using a crock pot add in the peas in the last half hour of cooking.) Enjoy!


This stew has a deep and rich flavor and clocks in at about 440 calories per serving. We enjoyed it the first nice with a small loaf of 9 grain bread to round out the meal.

What fun things did you do this weekend? Cook anything delicious?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

