A Dreary Thursday

This morning started off sunny but steadily got more and more dreary and dark outside. It’s now drizzling and all I want to do is curl up and take a nap. I really cannot wait until I start work on Monday. I’ll have something to do other than cook, do housework and exercise. Not that those things are bad by any means but I’m excited to have another reason to be out of the house and move around more during the day.

To pass some time today, mom and I went on a shopping adventure. She recently redid the kitchen in our house and is still looking for decorations and has, also, been trying to find something to put over our front door as well. So we decided to go to Hobby Lobby to see what we could find. Since I need a new winter coat as this will be my first real winter back in Chicago since I started college, we went over to Burlington Coat Factory to see what we could find. It’s right next door to Hobby Lobby. Perfect! We ended up finding new glasses for the kitchen and a coat for me at Burlington then went next door and found some perfect quote art for the house. Success!

Then we decided to stop at Boley Farm. This is a little family owned farm near my house and I have been making at least one trip a month to get some fresh produce. Our Haul from the trip included one head of purple cauliflower, a sweet mama squash, two gourds, and a red pepper for dinner tonight for only $5! I wish I had gotten a picture of all the gourds and winter squash. I will be so sad when this farm closes at the end of the month because all of their produce is great.

Dinner was pretty tasty tonight. We had smoky chicken taco salad. I got the idea from the October 2012 Everyday Food Magazine. My mom has 9 years worth of these magazines sitting around at home and I am currently going through them to find recipes to make. It’s been great to get out of a recipe rut and find new fun foods. Yum. Each bowl had a base of romaine and was topped with a smoky coleslaw (recipe will be coming soon), then sauteed chicken, red bell pepper, a tomato from our garden, avocado, Fage, and salsa which acted as our dressing. It was delish!

.        

I ended my evening with a great restorative yoga class at my gym. The class started with a little excerpt from a book by a philosopher. I found it perfect that it was about being thankful for employment as I start my job on Monday. It was a wonderful way to end the day and get in a little bit of active rest.

Has anyone ever used a Sweet Mama Squash and have any fun ideas for me?

What did you have for dinner?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

