Crockpot Beef Chili

Crockpot Chili

With the cool weather settling in I start craving warm comfort foods. Chili is one dish that screams October to me. When I was growing up, my mom used to make a big batch on Halloween every year and we would come home from trick or treating to grab a bowl to warm up before heading back out. To say chili brings me happy thoughts is an understatement so I decided it was time for my first batch of the year. Since chili is a dish that does best when you give it a lot of time to cook, I thought it should be done in the Crockpot. My mom has three different chili recipes that she uses to make her own chili and we decided this time we would write down the recipe and record it here for safe-keeping.

On Monday we were watching Bobby Flay’s Chili Throwdown and they used beef cubes instead of ground beef, which is what I usually use. Seeing this made me want to try something a little different. I threw my ground beef in the freezer and went out and bought some Rump Roast.

 

Here are the ingredients for the chili except for the beef. I started by cubing the beef into bite size pieces and browning them in a skillet to add another layer of flavor. We did ours in batches to keep the beef from steaming.

As each batch finished we threw it into the Crockpot. Once all the beef was finished, it was the onion and garlic’s turn. They were sweated in a little olive oil to help get all the tasty brown bits off the bottom of the pan. In to the Crockpot went the rest of the ingredients and the garlic and onions. It was given a good stir then set on low to cook until dinner time. Here is the chili all stirred up and ready to cook.

I let it cook until about 6:30 when I got home from tap. I was starving and made myself a nice big bowl, topped it with some Fage 0% plain and shredded cheddar cheese. On the side, I had a nice Jiffy cornbread muffin. Yummy!

I enjoyed my dinner with a Schlafly Pumpkin Ale that my sister brought me from St. Louis. This is my favorite pumpkin ale. It was savored while watching some Big Bang reruns with mom and my sister. I have to admit that I think I prefer ground beef to the chunks and will remake this recipe with ground beef next time. But, it is always fun to try something new.

Beef Chili

2 pound rump roast cut into 3/4 “ cubes

2 cans beans of your choice (we used 1 can Northern beans, 1 can dark red Kidney beans)

28 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes

3 Tbsp tomato paste

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp oregano

2 Tbsp chili powder

¼ tsp chipotle powder

1 tsp sugar

1-2 bay leaves

1 small yellow onion, diced

1 beef bouillon cube

Salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.

2. Brown your beef in batches and add to the Crockpot as they finish

3. Sweat your onion and garlic until translucent then add to the beef.

4. Add your cans of beans with the liquid. Do not drain! This helps thicken your chili but also adds to the moisture of the finished dish.

5. Add in the rest of the ingredients and combine well.

6. Set on low for 8 hours. If you are home give it a stir every couple hours. If you aren’t no worries, it pretty much takes care of itself.

7. Top with your favorite chili toppings or throw some on top of macaroni to make chili mac and enjoy

Do you have a favorite chili recipe or do you play around with different ones each time?

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Crockpot Beef Chili

  1. That looks yummy! I am glad you are using your crockpot too!

Leave a Reply

