Fall Inspired Pasta

Last night I made an awesome dinner. It was probably the best of my creations all fall. For the past two weeks, I have had a 2 lb butternut squash sitting on my kitchen counter. I just could not figure out what I wanted to make with it yet. Then, I bought Chicken Apple Gouda Sausage from Costco. And just like that the inspiration hit. I would make a pasta with roasted butternut squash and the Chicken Sausage. It worked even better than I could have imagined.

I sliced the sausage on an angle and the creamy Gouda melted down to create an amazingly creamy sauce. It was voted a winner in my house. And, it tasted just as awesome this afternoon for lunch. The recipe is as follows:Image

Chicken Apple Sausage, Butternut Squash Pasta in a Creamy Tomato Parmesan Sauce

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

1 2lb Butternut Squash

1 package (6 links) Chicken Apple Gouda Sausage

2 medium tomatoes

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/2 box your choice Penne pasta (I used Ronzoni Smart Taste because my family doesn’t like the whole wheat variety)

Olive oil, salt and pepper

1. Preheat oven to 400 F

2. Peel and cube your butternut squash into bite size pieces.

3. Place squash on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. I used about 1/5-1 Tbsp for the entire sheet. Salt and pepper the squash and give it a good mix. Stick it in the oven to bake for 45-50 minutes, stirring at 20 mins. You want it to get a little caramelized so it’ll bake a little longer than what other recipes call for.

4. After you’ve stirred the squash. Start your water in a pot to boil. I used a medium saucepan for mine. Start the next steps while waiting for it to boil.

5. Slice the chicken sausage on an angle getting 7-8 pieces per link. Then dice your tomatoes.

6. Start a large saute pan on medium-high heat. Let warm for 2-3 minutes then add in your chicken sausage and tomatoes. The Gouda and tomatoes at this point will start making the sauce. Mine got a little dry and I added another teaspoon of olive oil to the pan to keep things moving.

7. At this point your water should be boiling so cook your pasta according to the box. Before you drain, reserve a quarter cup of pasta water or so to help make the sauce.

8. Now its just an add everything to the sausage and tomatoes as they finish sort of deal. My order was butternut squash then I added in half the Parmesan to make stirring a little easier. Then I added in my drained pasta and the reserved pasta water. Mixed it all up and mixed in the last of the Parmesan.

There it is! My new favorite pasta dish. Feel free to play around with it. Add more tomatoes or leave them out if you don’t like them. Add more pasta if you want. Cooking is all about feel and what you want. Make it yours.

What has been your favorite dish you have made so far this fall? I’d love to hear about it!

Laura

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

