Cinnamon Vanilla Cashew Butter

I don’t know about all of you but I am obsessed with nut butters. My cabinet drawers have 12 different jars of nut butters and the fridge has another one. That is 13 jars of delicious healthy fat-filled containers of happiness. I came across a recipe on How Sweet Eat’s about milk chocolate cashew butter and thought it sounded amazing. But, we already have 5 jars of chocolate butters in the cabinet. I decided to tweak the recipe and make a cinnamon vanilla version instead because we don’t have anything like that yet!

I took 10 ounces raw cashews and put them into the food processor. Turned it on and let it go. I noticed that the broken down cashews kept sticking to the bottom and walls of the food processor and not much was getting butterized. Yes, that is now a word in my little world.

20130108_110021

I was constantly scraping down the cashews and breaking up the bottom which was clumping. This created a lot more work that I expected but the end result is worth it!

20130108_110025

Once the cashews really got going I added in 1 1/2 Tbsp melted coconut oil. I wanted something that would lend a little sweetness without overpowering the cashew flavor. After about 8-10 minutes the mixture was nice and smooth. I then added in the vanilla, about 1/2 tsp and cinnamon a good 8-10 shakes of the container. Turned the food processor back on and let it all incorporate.

20130108_110945

20130108_111214 20130108_111150

I put my cashew butter into a mason jar because I am obsessed with them almost as much as I am to nut butters. And proceeded to stick a spoon in the eat some of the delicious, creamy nut butter. It tastes like cookie dough! Like a sugar cookie dough! Ugh too good for words.

20130108_111857 20130108_112501

According to How Sweet you should put your homemade cashew butter in the fridge if you aren’t going to eat it all in 3-4 days. It makes 2 cups worth so mine went in the fridge. It does harden up in the fridge which makes it a little difficult to get out, but it spreads nicely onto apples which is how I have been eating it for the past, oh, 5 days.

Cinnamon Vanilla Cashew Butter (makes 2 cups)

10 oz raw cashews

1 1/2 Tbsp melted coconut oil

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp (8-10 shakes) cinnamon

1. Place cashews into food processor. Put lid on with the insert into the shoot because cashews will fly out if you don’t have it in. Turn on

2. Allow cashews to process for 8-10 minutes scraping down the sides and bottom as necessary to keep things moving

3. Once creamy, add in melted coconut oil and process another minute or so

4. Add in vanilla and cinnamon. Process a couple of minutes until well incorporated. Add more oil, cinnamon, or vanilla as needed to suit your taste buds

5. Place in an airtight container (I used a pint mason jar) and refrigerate if you will not eat it all in 3-4 days.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Cinnamon Vanilla Cashew Butter

  1. Who’s ready for some serious baking and cooking? Welcome to a new Linky Party –Weekend Kitchen
Creations at http://www.weekendkitchencreations.blogspot.com. Please join us, share your delicious creations and sign up for reminders for the next WKC.

Leave a Reply

